Executive Council

The Executive Council, chaired by the Group CEO and comprising the members of the Bayer AG Board of Management and the CEOs of the three subgroups Bayer HealthCare, ­Bayer CropScience and Bayer MaterialScience

Prof. Wolfgang Plischke¹

Technology · Innovation · ­Sustainability · Asia/Pacific region

Wolfgang Plischke studied biology at Hohenheim University. Having gained a Ph. D., Plischke began his career with Bayer at the subsidiary Miles in 1980. After holding a number of positions in Germany and ­a­broad, he became Head of the Pharmaceuticals Business Group in North America and subsequently world­wide. Plischke was appointed to the Board of Management in March 2006.

Dr. Marijn Dekkers

Chief Executive Officer of Bayer

Marijn Dekkers studied chemistry and chemical engineering in Nijmegen and Eindhoven. After gaining a Ph. D., he began a career in research with General Electric in the United States. Having held various positions in ­the United States, latterly as Chief Executive Officer and President of Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc., ­Dekkers took over as Bayer Chief Executive Officer in October 2010.

Dr. Olivier Brandicourt

Chief Executive Officer, Bayer HealthCare

Olivier Brandicourt studied medicine and biology in Paris and has worked as a practicing physician. Having begun his industrial career in 1987 at Parke-Davis/Warner-Lambert, he subsequently joined Pfizer, where he held positions of increasing responsibility, becoming a member of its Executive Leadership Team in 2010. Brandicourt took over as Chief Executive Officer of Bayer HealthCare in November 2013.

Liam Condon

Chief Executive Officer, Bayer CropScience

Liam Condon studied International Business at Dublin City University and the Technical University of Berlin. He held various positions of increasing responsibil­ity with the former Schering AG, Berlin, Germany, and with Bayer HealthCare in Europe and Asia, including Managing Direc­tor of Bayer HealthCare China and Head of Bayer HealthCare in Germany. ­Condon took over as Chief Executive Officer of ­Bayer CropScience in December 2012.

Patrick Thomas

Chief Executive Officer, ­Bayer MaterialScience

Patrick Thomas studied engineer­ing at Oxford University. He ­began his ­career with Imperial Chemical ­Industries (ICI). Positions held by ­Thomas include that of CEO of ICI Polyurethanes and Corporate Executive Vice President of Huntsman Matlin ­Patterson. ­Thomas took over as Chief Executive Officer of Bayer ­MaterialScience in January 2007.

Werner Baumann¹

Finance · Europe and North America regions

Werner Baumann studied eco­nomics in Aachen and Cologne. He joined Bayer AG in 1988, where his first duties were in the Corporate Finance Department. After holding positions of increasing responsibility in Spain and the United States, he became a member of the Board of Management of Bayer HealthCare and its Labor Director. Baumann was appointed Chief Financial Officer of Bayer in May 2010.

Kemal Malik¹

Kemal Malik studied medicine and worked in a London hospital. After holding different positions of increas­ing responsibility at Bristol-Myers Squibb, he joined Bayer in 1995. In 2007 Malik became a member of the Executive Committee, Head of Glob­al Development and Chief Medical ­Officer of Bayer HealthCare. He was appointed to the Bayer Board of ­Management in February 2014.

Michael König¹/²

Human Resources · Latin America /Africa/Middle East region

Michael König studied chemical proc­ess engineering in Dortmund, joining ­Bayer in 1990. After holding positions of increasing responsibility, he transferred to China in 2000 as a General Manager. In 2007 König became ­Senior Bayer ­Representative, and from 2011 he ­headed up the Polycarbonates Business Unit of Bayer ­MaterialScience in ­Shanghai. He was appointed to the Bayer Board of Management in April 2013.


Prof. Wolfgang Plischke retires on April 29, 2014. He will be succeeded as of that date by Kemal Malik, who already joined the Board of Management in February. Malik then assumes respon­sibility for Innovation and the North America and Latin America regions. Responsibility for Technology, Sustainability and the Asia/Pacific region will be transferred to Michael König effective April 30, 2014.


Labor Director

Online annexes

Enter the relevant code given in the printed version of the Annual Report

Last updated: February 28, 2014  Copyright © Bayer AG